LATFOR Task Force on Reapportionment

New York State Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment


NYS Legislative Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment
250 Broadway — Suite 2100
New York, NY 10007
212-618-1100Email LATFOR:


Co-Chair NY State Senator Michael F. Nozzolio

188 State Street Room 412, Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247

Phone: (518) 455-2366 Fax: (518) 426-6953 Email:

Click here to view complete video of LATFOR meetings and hearingsClick here to view 2010 Census data

The Task Force on Demographic Research and Reapportionment was established by Chapter 45 of the New York State Laws of 1978 to research and study the techniques and methodologies to be used by the U.S. Commerce Departments’ bureau of the Census in carrying out the decennial federal census. The Task Force aids the Legislature by providing technical plans for meeting the requirements of legislative timetables for the reapportionment of Senate, Assembly and Congressional districts. It also conducts research projects relating to the collection and use of census data and other statistical information.

The Task Force consists of six members, including four legislators and two non-legislators. The Temporary President of the Senate appoints one legislator, Michael F. Nozzolio (Co-Chair), and one non-legislator, Welquis R. Lopez. The Speaker of the Assembly also appoints one legislator, Assemblyman John J. McEneny (Co-Chair), and one non-legislator, Roman Hedges. The Minority Leaders of the Assembly and the Senate each appoint one legislator: Assemblyman Robert Oaks and Senator Martin Malavé Dilan.

The Co-Executive Directors are Debra A. Levine and Lewis M. Hoppe.